Symphonic Soundscapes


The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and conductor Alexander Shelley will perform a series of concerts devoted to the music of Sibelius and Prokofiev at the Cadogan Hall in London in the 2016–17 season.

Born in London in 1979, Shelley, the son of celebrated concert pianists, studied cello and conducting in Germany and first gained widespread attention when he was unanimously awarded first prize at the 2005 Leeds Conductors Competition. In January 2015 he assumed the role of principal associate conductor of London’s Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

The concerts are as follows:

Sibelius: The Swan of Tuonela
Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3 (soloist: Anna Fedorova)
Sibelius: Symphony No. 2

Prokofiev: Symphony No. 1 (Classical)
Sibelius: Violin Concerto (soloist: Chloë Hanslip)
Prokofiev: Symphony No. 3

Sibelius: Symphony No. 1
Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 1 (soloist: Ning Feng)
Sibelius: Symphony No. 7

Sibelius: Tapiola
Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 5
Sibelius: Symphony No. 5

Click here for more information and to book tickets.

Alexander Shelley’s performance of Sibelius’s Seventh Symphony with the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, April 2015:

lick here for more information andSave







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.